Riverhead, NY: Community Preservation Act

New York state law permits five towns in Long Island's Peconic Bay region to develop "community preservation funds" to protect farmland, natural areas and open space.  The five towns, including Riverhead, have the authority to enact up to a two-percent real estate transfer tax with proceeds going to the dedicated community preservation fund.  Riverhead has established its own Community Preservation law that details how the fund will be administered.  

Downloadable Documents: 
Riverhead, N.Y., art. I, §§ 14-1 to 14-40 (2004).
Law Category: 
Local Laws and Resolutions